Skip to content
College Path Hub

Oakland University

Rochester Hills, Michigan · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$9,120What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
88%
Graduation rate
57%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
12,351
In-state tuition
$15,262Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$23,188
SAT midpoint
1,100
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$58,612Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$9,120

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

57%

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$58,612

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,750

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,182

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$9,120

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Oakland University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time57%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,750
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$58,612

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Oakland University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$80,62378
Computer Engineering$78,70938
Mechanical Engineering$78,213132
Industrial Engineering$77,16929
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,917479
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$69,4464
Computer and Information Sciences, General$66,537149
Management Information Systems and Services$65,12835
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$62,45213
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,35945
Finance and Financial Management Services$61,80496
Accounting and Related Services$59,83365
Public Health$59,33019
Biological/Biosystems Engineering$57,33714
Business/Commerce, General$56,11863
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$55,99226
Human Resources Management and Services$51,010139
Marketing$50,087116
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,440182
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$40,29917
Social Work$38,44676
Communication and Media Studies$37,79587
History$36,25743
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$36,157122
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,70547
Journalism$35,54518
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$35,41124
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$34,46428
Dance$31,9997
English Language and Literature, General$31,74642
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$31,20137
Design and Applied Arts$30,68769
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$29,225181
Political Science and Government$29,08052
Psychology, General$28,026206
Biology, General$27,497141
Fine and Studio Arts$22,84021
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$22,01127
Sociology$20,12617
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$15,57921
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported61
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported33
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported24
AnthropologyNot reported18
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported15
MusicNot reported14
Homeland SecurityNot reported14
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported13
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported8
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported8
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported8
EconomicsNot reported7
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported4
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported4
StatisticsNot reported4
Nutrition SciencesNot reported4
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reported4
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Public AdministrationNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported1
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported1
Engineering ChemistryNot reported1
Area StudiesNot reported1
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Engineering PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 74 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges