Colorado State University-Fort Collins
Fort Collins, Colorado · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $21,279What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 89%
- Graduation rate
- 67%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 25,538
- In-state tuition
- $13,373Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $34,783
- SAT midpoint
- 1,185
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $60,543Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$21,2791/5
Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
67%4/5
Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$60,5434/5
Better than 67% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$20,0004/5
Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$31,642
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$21,279
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 67% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 86% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $20,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $60,543 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $78,856 | 200 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | $78,423 | 165 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $78,038 | 46 |
| Civil Engineering | $73,326 | 93 |
| Information Science/Studies | $67,827 | 13 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | $66,109 | 44 |
| Chemical Engineering | $62,468 | 72 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $60,720 | 201 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $54,846 | 679 |
| Public Health | $52,540 | 19 |
| Physics | $51,927 | 13 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $51,292 | 71 |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | $51,005 | 11 |
| Economics | $48,462 | 99 |
| Mathematics | $47,835 | 43 |
| Soil Sciences | $46,287 | 19 |
| Interior Architecture | $45,774 | 42 |
| Chemistry | $42,660 | 25 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $41,688 | 47 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $41,158 | 24 |
| Biotechnology | $40,141 | Not reported |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $39,701 | 41 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $38,731 | 136 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $38,484 | 52 |
| Music | $38,277 | 45 |
| Social Work | $38,134 | 73 |
| Forestry | $37,539 | 27 |
| Sociology | $37,335 | 145 |
| Psychology, General | $37,121 | 284 |
| Plant Sciences | $36,980 | 75 |
| Journalism | $36,352 | 139 |
| Political Science and Government | $36,324 | 140 |
| History | $36,272 | 87 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $36,214 | Not reported |
| Animal Sciences | $36,111 | 91 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $35,326 | 217 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $35,322 | 88 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $34,852 | 70 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $34,540 | 76 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $34,346 | 16 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $33,161 | 72 |
| Biology, General | $32,958 | 330 |
| Nutrition Sciences | $32,785 | 42 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | $31,881 | 73 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $30,143 | 100 |
| International/Globalization Studies | $28,919 | 37 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $28,172 | 20 |
| Philosophy | $27,810 | 22 |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | $27,741 | 234 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $27,549 | 79 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $27,413 | 58 |
| Anthropology | $27,178 | 52 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences Business Services | Not reported | 257 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | Not reported | 57 |
| Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy | Not reported | 51 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | 37 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | 26 |
| Computer Engineering | Not reported | 26 |
| Landscape Architecture | Not reported | 24 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 22 |
| Food Science and Technology | Not reported | 20 |
| Natural Sciences | Not reported | 17 |
| Statistics | Not reported | 15 |
| Data Science | Not reported | 15 |
| Dance | Not reported | 14 |
| Fire Protection | Not reported | 11 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | Not reported | 11 |
| Geography and Cartography | Not reported | 10 |
| Engineering Science | Not reported | 7 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | 5 |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | Not reported |
All 71 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoMetropolitan State University of Denver
Denver, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two