University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $15,788What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 97%
- Graduation rate
- 46%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 8,697
- In-state tuition
- $10,149Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $24,336
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $54,659Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$15,7883/5
Better than 40% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
46%2/5
Better than 34% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$54,6593/5
Better than 50% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$20,0004/5
Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,595
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$15,788
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 46% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 68% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $20,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $54,659 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $82,084 | 10 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $80,513 | 27 |
| Computer Science | $77,761 | 91 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $71,864 | 172 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $70,440 | 86 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | $62,018 | 5 |
| Economics | $46,748 | 23 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $43,326 | 355 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $42,199 | 128 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $40,198 | 60 |
| History | $38,276 | 47 |
| Political Science and Government | $37,295 | 35 |
| Mathematics | $37,197 | 29 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $37,002 | 132 |
| Geography and Cartography | $36,426 | 39 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $34,627 | 51 |
| Psychology, General | $34,607 | 167 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | $32,629 | 68 |
| Philosophy | $32,480 | 24 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | $32,393 | 40 |
| Biology, General | $32,374 | 120 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | $30,966 | 41 |
| Sociology | $27,226 | 36 |
| Human Services, General | Not reported | 35 |
| Social Work | Not reported | 34 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | Not reported | 23 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 21 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 17 |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | Not reported | 12 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Not reported | 7 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 7 |
| Physics | Not reported | 7 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 7 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Not reported | 6 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 6 |
| Systems Engineering | Not reported | 2 |
| Engineering, Other | Not reported | 1 |
| Music | Not reported | 1 |
| Museology/Museum Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | Not reported |
All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoColorado State University Global
Denver, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoColorado School of Mines
Golden, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO
Also a public four-year college in CO, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two