Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of West Alabama

Livingston, Alabama · Public · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,684What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
43%
Graduation rate
36%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,974
In-state tuition
$10,990Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$20,090
SAT midpoint
930
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,232Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,684

Better than 67% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

36%

Better than 18% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$44,232

Better than 14% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,944

Better than 16% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,758

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,684

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of West Alabama
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time36%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return65%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,944
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$44,232

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of West Alabama by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and Operations$36,92031
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$31,78662
Biology, General$30,01910
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported72
Psychology, GeneralNot reported30
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported27
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported16
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported15
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported12
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported10
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported9
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, OtherNot reported8
Special Education and TeachingNot reported8
MathematicsNot reported7
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported6
MarketingNot reported5
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported5
HistoryNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, OtherNot reported4
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported3
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, GeneralNot reported3
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported3
SociologyNot reported2
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported2
EconomicsNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported

All 29 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges