Skip to content
College Path Hub

Athens State University

Athens, Alabama · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
Not reportedWhat students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
Not reportedShare of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,446
In-state tuition
Not reportedPublished price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
Not reported
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$50,273Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

Not reported

Not rated

Not rated: this college did not report the figure.

Completion

Not reported

Not rated

Not rated: this college did not report the figure.

Earnings

$50,273

Better than 35% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,051

Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

Not reported

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

Not reported

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Athens State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal timeNot reported
Retention rateFirst-year students who returnNot reported
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,051
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$50,273

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Athens State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$78,43520
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$63,754Not reported
Mathematics$57,58417
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,90368
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,436143
Accounting and Related Services$46,57761
Human Resources Management and Services$44,13027
Special Education and Teaching$43,66820
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$42,40341
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,948127
English Language and Literature, General$40,91723
Fine and Studio Arts$38,00611
Biology, General$36,90712
Psychology, General$34,32415
Education, Other$31,70645
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported11
HistoryNot reported11
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported8
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reported6
Behavioral SciencesNot reported6
SociologyNot reported6
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported4
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported4
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported4
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported3
Homeland SecurityNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Public HealthNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Fire ProtectionNot reportedNot reported
Air TransportationNot reportedNot reported

All 34 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges