University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $28,699What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 5%
- Graduation rate
- 97%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 10,650
- In-state tuition
- $68,686Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $68,686
- SAT midpoint
- 1,525
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $111,371Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$28,6992/5
Better than 25% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).
Completion
97%5/5
Better than 100% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).
Earnings
$111,3715/5
Better than 99% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).
Debt at graduation
$15,7155/5
Better than 92% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$89,028
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$28,699
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 97% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 99% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $15,715 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $111,371 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $146,204 | 177 |
| Statistics | $129,732 | 67 |
| Computer Science | $124,678 | 83 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $122,698 | 62 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $104,502 | 200 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $93,310 | 44 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $91,443 | 93 |
| Economics | $89,097 | 238 |
| Cognitive Science | $84,314 | 80 |
| Marketing | $82,553 | 56 |
| Chemical Engineering | $81,721 | 36 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $80,943 | 183 |
| Philosophy | $73,053 | 180 |
| Physics | $68,215 | 55 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $66,876 | 53 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | $65,559 | 46 |
| Political Science and Government | $65,473 | 112 |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | $58,269 | 63 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $53,022 | 62 |
| History | $48,555 | 54 |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | $44,542 | 73 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $40,967 | 47 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $39,880 | 103 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $38,820 | 22 |
| Biology, General | $31,055 | 171 |
| Data Analytics | Not reported | 261 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 57 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 47 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | Not reported | 46 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 45 |
| Systems Engineering | Not reported | 36 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 27 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Not reported | 26 |
| Business/Commerce, General | Not reported | 25 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Not reported | 24 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 24 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | Not reported | 23 |
| Urban Studies/Affairs | Not reported | 21 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 18 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 18 |
| Real Estate | Not reported | 18 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Not reported | 17 |
| Criminology | Not reported | 17 |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | 17 |
| Social Sciences, General | Not reported | 16 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 16 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | 16 |
| Materials Engineering | Not reported | 15 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Not reported | 14 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 14 |
| Architecture | Not reported | 14 |
| Computer Engineering | Not reported | 13 |
| Engineering, Other | Not reported | 13 |
| Psychology, General | Not reported | 12 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 12 |
| East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 11 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | 10 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 9 |
| Social Sciences, Other | Not reported | 9 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 8 |
| Music | Not reported | 8 |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 8 |
| Literature | Not reported | 7 |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | Not reported | 6 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | Not reported | 6 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Not reported | 5 |
| Psychology, Other | Not reported | 4 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 3 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 3 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | Not reported | 3 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | Not reported | 1 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Insurance | Not reported | Not reported |
| International Business | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
All 76 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in PA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCarnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in PA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoLehigh University
Bethlehem, PA
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in PA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoDuquesne University
Pittsburgh, PA
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in PA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two