Skip to content
College Path Hub

Lehigh University

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$36,931What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
26%
Graduation rate
89%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
5,898
In-state tuition
$64,980Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$64,980
SAT midpoint
1,408
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$105,584Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$36,931

Better than 9% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

89%

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$105,584

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,960

Better than 72% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$80,856

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$36,931

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Lehigh University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time89%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,960
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$105,584

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Lehigh University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$88,587147
Computer and Information Sciences, General$83,35648
Chemical Engineering$82,43542
Computer Engineering$82,20925
Business/Managerial Economics$81,79647
Industrial Engineering$81,14240
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$79,11924
Accounting and Related Services$77,02653
Finance and Financial Management Services$76,720193
Mechanical Engineering$75,47972
Materials Engineering$74,9719
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$74,73420
Civil Engineering$73,54545
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$72,44035
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,28917
Marketing$55,23660
Political Science and Government$53,63236
Biology, General$45,69555
Journalism$45,25619
Psychology, General$40,94263
International Relations and National Security Studies$36,14732
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported40
Public HealthNot reported27
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported25
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported24
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported18
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported18
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported18
ArchitectureNot reported16
SociologyNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported12
Cognitive ScienceNot reported12
Data AnalyticsNot reported11
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported9
Engineering, OtherNot reported8
HistoryNot reported8
StatisticsNot reported8
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported7
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported5
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported4
AnthropologyNot reported3
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported3
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported2
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Information Science/StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reportedNot reported
Science, Technology and SocietyNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Engineering PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reportedNot reported

All 65 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges