Skip to content
College Path Hub

Bucknell University

Lewisburg, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$40,766What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
29%
Graduation rate
86%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,876
In-state tuition
$67,812Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$67,812
SAT midpoint
1,373
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$93,807Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$40,766

Better than 5% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

86%

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$93,807

Better than 96% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$83,756

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$40,766

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Bucknell University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time86%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$93,807

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Bucknell University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Engineering$90,17135
Chemical Engineering$80,65323
Civil Engineering$80,23124
Mechanical Engineering$79,39146
International Relations and National Security Studies$77,31224
Accounting and Related Services$75,77670
Economics$70,946121
Marketing$70,86832
Political Science and Government$53,01287
Psychology, General$51,64571
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$51,12032
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$46,69827
Biology, General$38,76575
English Language and Literature, General$34,04323
SociologyNot reported29
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported24
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported21
Education, GeneralNot reported20
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported19
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported16
HistoryNot reported16
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported15
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported15
Area StudiesNot reported14
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported13
Data AnalyticsNot reported13
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported13
MathematicsNot reported12
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported12
ChemistryNot reported10
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported10
Zoology/Animal BiologyNot reported10
International BusinessNot reported10
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported8
Applied MathematicsNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported6
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
MusicNot reported4
AnthropologyNot reported4
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported4
Geography and CartographyNot reported3
StatisticsNot reported3
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported3
Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported1
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported

All 53 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges