Skip to content
College Path Hub

Duquesne University

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$37,730What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
84%
Graduation rate
77%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
5,350
In-state tuition
$48,986Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$48,986
SAT midpoint
1,225
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$74,742Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$37,730

Better than 8% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

77%

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$74,742

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,244

Better than 27% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$67,776

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$37,730

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Duquesne University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time77%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,244
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$74,742

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Duquesne University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,265259
Computer Science$65,09821
Computer and Information Sciences, General$64,91449
International Business$60,7486
Accounting and Related Services$60,66636
Finance and Financial Management Services$59,87866
Business Administration, Management and Operations$58,78147
Mathematics$49,31416
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$48,3198
Marketing$47,897100
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$45,89038
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$41,78742
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,50255
Computer Software and Media Applications$41,39419
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$39,65151
International Relations and National Security Studies$39,63016
Business/Corporate Communications$38,2072
Biology, General$36,64374
Communication and Media Studies$33,27513
Psychology, General$32,29175
English Language and Literature, General$31,88724
Sociology$29,66121
History$29,45117
Political Science and Government$28,84035
Music$27,85423
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reported116
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported47
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported42
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported31
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported26
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported26
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported23
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported21
EconomicsNot reported10
Public HealthNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported7
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported6
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported6
Applied MathematicsNot reported5
Computational ScienceNot reported4
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported4
JournalismNot reported4
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
Education, GeneralNot reported3
PhysicsNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported2
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported1
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Behavioral SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Data AnalyticsNot reportedNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 61 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges