Skip to content
College Path Hub

Lafayette College

Easton, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$34,433What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
31%
Graduation rate
88%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,757
In-state tuition
$65,398Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$65,398
SAT midpoint
1,380
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$91,410Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$34,433

Better than 12% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

88%

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$91,410

Better than 95% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$16,000

Better than 91% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$83,133

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$34,433

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Lafayette College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time88%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return90%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$16,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$91,410

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Lafayette College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Chemical Engineering$79,60222
Engineering, General$76,50713
Mechanical Engineering$72,48154
Civil Engineering$70,39124
Economics$68,164100
International Relations and National Security Studies$58,43325
Political Science and Government$48,11271
Sociology and Anthropology$43,32120
Biology, General$41,88550
Psychology, General$36,235Not reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported48
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported48
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported33
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported32
Mathematical EconomicsNot reported29
MathematicsNot reported22
HistoryNot reported18
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported12
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported12
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported11
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported11
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
Engineering, OtherNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported8
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported8
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported6
MusicNot reported5
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported5
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Area StudiesNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Social Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges