Skip to content
College Path Hub

St. Joseph's University-New York

Brooklyn, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,035What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
72%
Graduation rate
67%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,144
In-state tuition
$36,550Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$36,550
SAT midpoint
1,156
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,905Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,035

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

67%

Better than 67% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$63,905

Better than 75% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,000

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$41,897

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,035

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for St. Joseph's University-New York
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time67%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return81%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,905

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at St. Joseph's University-New York by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$96,95869
Accounting and Related Services$49,78927
Health and Medical Administrative Services$48,23242
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$46,908Not reported
Mathematics and Statistics, Other$46,678Not reported
Human Services, General$43,1057
Business Administration, Management and Operations$42,32679
Marketing$41,52824
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$40,790111
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$38,09046
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$36,8479
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,79448
Special Education and Teaching$35,041181
Mathematics$34,5317
Social Sciences, General$34,48814
Political Science and Government$34,3346
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$33,205Not reported
Psychology, General$32,04169
English Language and Literature, General$28,60510
Biology, General$27,81531
Hospitality Administration/Management$24,5716
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$21,79613
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesNot reported25
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported23
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported21
Computer ScienceNot reported18
HistoryNot reported13
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported10
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported8
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported7
EconomicsNot reported5
JournalismNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
SociologyNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges