Skip to content
College Path Hub

Colgate University

Hamilton, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$28,786What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
14%
Graduation rate
91%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,180
In-state tuition
$70,306Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$70,306
SAT midpoint
1,425
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$85,139Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$28,786

Better than 24% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

91%

Better than 96% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$85,139

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$15,000

Better than 92% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$87,070

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$28,786

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Colgate University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time91%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return93%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$15,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$85,139

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Colgate University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$79,92962
Economics$77,274147
Political Science and Government$56,06476
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$53,54116
Sociology$51,78829
English Language and Literature, General$48,00839
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$44,08954
Research and Experimental Psychology$41,88362
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$41,87038
Biology, General$34,79637
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported44
HistoryNot reported39
PhilosophyNot reported32
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported31
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reported25
PhysicsNot reported24
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported20
Education, GeneralNot reported20
Geography and CartographyNot reported14
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported13
Applied MathematicsNot reported11
AnthropologyNot reported10
Area StudiesNot reported10
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported9
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported8
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported8
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported6
MusicNot reported5
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Natural SciencesNot reported4
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported4
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported3
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported2
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported1
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 43 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges