Skip to content
College Path Hub

Iona University

New Rochelle, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$29,188What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
87%
Graduation rate
57%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,951
In-state tuition
$47,260Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$47,260
SAT midpoint
1,160
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$73,595Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$29,188

Better than 23% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

57%

Better than 47% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$73,595

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,999

Better than 34% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$60,247

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$29,188

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Iona University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time57%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,999
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$73,595

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Iona University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Finance and Financial Management Services$53,08443
Management Information Systems and Services$48,72012
Accounting and Related Services$46,26628
Business Administration, Management and Operations$40,15645
Marketing$39,59569
Psychology, General$33,02355
Criminal Justice and Corrections$31,28349
Communication and Media Studies$29,91154
Political Science and Government$18,14817
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported38
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported32
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported26
Computer ScienceNot reported23
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported21
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported19
Social WorkNot reported15
Biology, GeneralNot reported13
EconomicsNot reported12
HistoryNot reported10
International BusinessNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported7
SociologyNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported4
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported3
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported1
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported1
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reportedNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported

All 39 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges