Skip to content
College Path Hub

Southwest Minnesota State University

Marshall, Minnesota · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,291What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
62%
Graduation rate
45%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,315
In-state tuition
$10,361Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$10,361
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$51,342Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,291

Better than 45% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

45%

Better than 31% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$51,342

Better than 39% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,500

Better than 53% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$24,757

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,291

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Southwest Minnesota State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time45%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return74%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$51,342

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Southwest Minnesota State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,93370
Agricultural Business and Management$49,5217
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,24538
Marketing$48,93911
Finance and Financial Management Services$47,73411
Social Work$46,36815
Special Education and Teaching$44,51021
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$43,87524
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,33342
Psychology, General$33,09914
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$32,80238
Biology, General$31,76513
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported16
Education, GeneralNot reported15
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported14
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported11
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported9
Computer ScienceNot reported9
HistoryNot reported8
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported8
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported8
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported7
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported6
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported6
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported5
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reported4
Plant SciencesNot reported4
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesNot reported4
PhilosophyNot reported2
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported2
Applied MathematicsNot reported2
Agricultural Public ServicesNot reported2
SociologyNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
LiteratureNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges