Skip to content
College Path Hub

Bemidji State University

Bemidji, Minnesota · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,261What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
56%
Graduation rate
51%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,139
In-state tuition
$10,237Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$10,237
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,755Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,261

Better than 46% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

51%

Better than 46% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$53,755

Better than 46% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,750

Better than 63% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,744

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,261

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Bemidji State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time51%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return73%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,750
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,755

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Bemidji State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$85,83027
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,63986
Accounting and Related Services$58,44641
Criminal Justice and Corrections$49,61759
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,396152
Social Work$47,19234
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$45,66841
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,84169
Design and Applied Arts$40,23118
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$39,19514
Biology, General$37,46944
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$35,80627
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$35,5218
Communication and Media Studies$34,24311
Psychology, General$33,96393
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$32,38845
MathematicsNot reported14
SociologyNot reported11
Computer ScienceNot reported10
MusicNot reported9
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansNot reported9
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported9
ChemistryNot reported8
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported7
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported7
Engineering-Related FieldsNot reported7
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported5
Public HealthNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
Geography and CartographyNot reported3
Information Science/StudiesNot reported2
EconomicsNot reported2
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported

All 44 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges