Skip to content
College Path Hub

Ohio University-Main Campus

Athens, Ohio · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$21,637What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
85%
Graduation rate
66%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
19,633
In-state tuition
$14,158Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$24,838
SAT midpoint
1,180
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,581Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$21,637

Better than 8% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

66%

Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$52,581

Better than 43% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,056

Better than 47% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$30,586

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$21,637

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Ohio University-Main Campus
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time66%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,056
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$52,581

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Ohio University-Main Campus by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,8091,396
Computer Science$73,93260
Industrial Engineering$70,19919
Mechanical Engineering$69,16157
Management Information Systems and Services$68,15488
Chemical Engineering$67,32227
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$66,591Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$64,22614
Civil Engineering$63,88428
Accounting and Related Services$61,85646
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications$61,78818
Business/Managerial Economics$60,23610
Finance and Financial Management Services$59,305175
International Business$57,3969
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,006134
Marketing$55,022242
Computer and Information Sciences, General$48,515Not reported
Economics$46,65515
Chemistry$43,34938
Human Resources Management and Services$43,125Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services$42,66349
Special Education and Teaching$41,36245
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$40,51621
Apparel and Textiles$39,96924
Criminology$39,349Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$38,97342
Political Science and Government$38,75369
Housing and Human Environments$38,63714
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$38,6378
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$38,3811
Journalism$38,246123
Social Work$37,99037
Public Health$37,8838
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$36,88659
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$36,85017
Communication and Media Studies$36,666148
Sociology$36,50662
Music$36,25234
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$35,165102
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$34,983220
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$34,70742
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$33,310Not reported
Geography and Cartography$33,1991
Psychology, General$30,682247
Zoology/Animal Biology$29,303146
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$29,08681
Fine and Studio Arts$29,05333
Anthropology$27,80625
Design and Applied Arts$24,7167
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$24,23920
History$24,07538
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$23,39922
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$15,60243
Data AnalyticsNot reported194
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported92
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported62
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported59
Engineering, GeneralNot reported56
Air TransportationNot reported53
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported28
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported25
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported25
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported24
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported22
DanceNot reported18
Botany/Plant BiologyNot reported18
Geography and Environmental StudiesNot reported17
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported16
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported15
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported14
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported13
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported12
Computer EngineeringNot reported12
Engineering, OtherNot reported12
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported11
Human Services, GeneralNot reported11
PhysicsNot reported10
MathematicsNot reported9
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported8
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported8
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
Applied MathematicsNot reported7
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported6
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reported5
Area StudiesNot reported5
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyNot reported5
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported4
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported4
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralNot reported4
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported3
Nutrition SciencesNot reported3
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported2
Biology, GeneralNot reported2
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reported2
Atmospheric Sciences and MeteorologyNot reported1
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 102 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges