Skip to content
College Path Hub

Bowling Green State University-Main Campus

Bowling Green, Ohio · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$24,022What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
81%
Graduation rate
63%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
12,812
In-state tuition
$14,460Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$22,448
SAT midpoint
1,115
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,896Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$24,022

Better than 3% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

63%

Better than 74% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$47,896

Better than 27% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$33,007

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$24,022

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time63%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,896

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Bowling Green State University-Main Campus by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Construction Engineering$69,14644
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$68,261101
Computer Engineering$67,94951
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other$66,66982
Engineering-Related Fields$65,99667
Management Information Systems and Services$65,28034
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$62,86918
Business Administration, Management and Operations$60,807122
Information Science/Studies$60,35935
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$58,77336
Accounting and Related Services$55,83887
Finance and Financial Management Services$53,70785
Computer and Information Sciences, General$53,25710
International Business$53,18826
Economics$52,86417
Marketing$47,272102
Public Health$47,01918
Mathematics$46,67816
Business/Commerce, General$46,01831
Health and Medical Administrative Services$44,65525
Environmental Design$43,84337
Chemistry$43,84056
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$42,29617
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$41,50950
Journalism$41,15914
Social Work$40,95967
Interior Architecture$40,66918
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,271139
Special Education and Teaching$38,671203
Graphic Communications$38,48957
Political Science and Government$37,32921
Criminal Justice and Corrections$36,46892
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$35,810Not reported
Design and Applied Arts$35,64539
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$34,04062
Gerontology$33,4974
Air Transportation$33,17269
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$32,70937
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$32,17552
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,919124
Sociology$31,48414
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$31,21867
Fine and Studio Arts$31,12840
Biology, General$30,861121
Education, Other$30,48398
History$30,22625
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$29,89622
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$29,40531
International/Globalization Studies$29,01310
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$28,62040
Psychology, General$28,007127
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy$24,59617
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$22,73410
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$21,90014
English Language and Literature, General$21,82510
Music$20,63217
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$19,80331
Visual and Performing Arts, General$18,81930
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported41
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported20
Philosophy, Politics, and EconomicsNot reported12
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported11
Fire ProtectionNot reported10
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported9
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported8
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyNot reported8
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported5
Geography and CartographyNot reported4
PhysicsNot reported4
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
StatisticsNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Area StudiesNot reported1
Nutrition SciencesNot reported1
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
DanceNot reportedNot reported

All 79 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges