Skip to content
College Path Hub

Aurora University

Aurora, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,838What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
81%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,974
In-state tuition
$29,170Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$29,170
SAT midpoint
1,045
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$58,709Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,838

Better than 72% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 51% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$58,709

Better than 64% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,318

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$40,625

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,838

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Aurora University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,318
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$58,709

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Aurora University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72,520216
Computer Science$51,60524
Finance and Financial Management Services$51,43735
Accounting and Related Services$50,08619
Business Administration, Management and Operations$48,843163
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$44,61423
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,28283
Criminal Justice and Corrections$44,15076
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$41,85644
Marketing$39,48247
Social Work$38,382175
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$37,25652
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$33,01844
Biology, General$32,69116
Psychology, General$31,484102
Communication and Media Studies$30,72825
Special Education and TeachingNot reported18
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported18
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported16
HistoryNot reported16
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported13
MathematicsNot reported13
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported9
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported8
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported8
SociologyNot reported7
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported7
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported1
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reportedNot reported
Sustainability StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Computer EngineeringNot reportedNot reported

All 45 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges