Skip to content
College Path Hub

Elmhurst University

Elmhurst, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$24,185What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
74%
Graduation rate
68%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,006
In-state tuition
$42,955Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$42,955
SAT midpoint
1,117
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$61,462Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$24,185

Better than 42% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

68%

Better than 70% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$61,462

Better than 70% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,489

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$54,679

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$24,185

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Elmhurst University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time68%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,489
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$61,462

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Elmhurst University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$73,820114
Computer Science$72,910Not reported
Accounting and Related Services$59,73417
Finance and Financial Management Services$57,17142
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,77184
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,10540
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,78939
Communication and Media Studies$41,4231
Marketing$40,07421
Criminal Justice and Corrections$38,35226
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$36,43212
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$35,76719
English Language and Literature, General$33,94718
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$33,55613
Psychology, General$32,55388
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,53834
Biology, General$30,80439
Music$21,7598
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported35
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported28
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported26
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported21
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported13
HistoryNot reported12
EconomicsNot reported11
Special Education and TeachingNot reported11
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
SociologyNot reported9
Information Science/StudiesNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported8
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported8
MathematicsNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported6
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
Graphic CommunicationsNot reported5
Public HealthNot reported4
International BusinessNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported4
JournalismNot reported4
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported4
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported4
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported2
Education, GeneralNot reported2
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity StudiesNot reported1
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, OtherNot reported1
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported1
Geography and CartographyNot reported1
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Intelligence, Command Control and Information OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Education, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 59 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges