Skip to content
College Path Hub

Augustana College

Rock Island, Illinois · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,736What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
63%
Graduation rate
76%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,490
In-state tuition
$51,598Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$51,598
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$62,971Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,736

Better than 49% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

76%

Better than 84% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$62,971

Better than 73% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$63,553

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,736

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Augustana College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time76%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$62,971

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Augustana College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$74,74521
Accounting and Related Services$62,14943
Engineering Physics$54,1654
Business Administration, Management and Operations$50,21041
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,51714
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$45,14542
Communication and Media Studies$40,80639
Geography and Cartography$40,68312
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$38,4369
International Business$37,35011
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$35,66921
Political Science and Government$35,62619
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$34,06914
Biology, General$32,84469
Sociology$30,290Not reported
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other$30,104Not reported
Psychology, General$29,80147
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$24,20825
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$20,3268
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$19,77511
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported41
MarketingNot reported41
Public HealthNot reported25
Computational ScienceNot reported23
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported21
JournalismNot reported21
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported18
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reported16
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported15
HistoryNot reported14
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported10
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported9
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported8
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
MathematicsNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported6
EconomicsNot reported6
Applied MathematicsNot reported6
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported5
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported4
MusicNot reported4
PhysicsNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported2
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
AnthropologyNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges