Skip to content
College Path Hub

Widener University

Chester, Pennsylvania · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$25,759What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
71%
Graduation rate
66%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,951
In-state tuition
$55,730Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$55,730
SAT midpoint
1,178
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$70,920Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$25,759

Better than 35% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

66%

Better than 65% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$70,920

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$70,621

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$25,759

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Widener University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time66%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$70,920

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Widener University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$83,528201
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$82,61110
Chemical Engineering$71,16012
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services$70,8174
Civil Engineering$69,28919
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$68,76215
Mechanical Engineering$65,51539
Accounting and Related Services$65,07117
Finance and Financial Management Services$62,67221
Computer Science$51,53614
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,8409
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$42,4082
Hospitality Administration/Management$37,8611
Psychology, General$37,22448
Biology, General$35,14235
Criminal Justice and Corrections$31,66317
Communication and Media Studies$30,7327
Journalism$22,0586
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported44
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported36
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation EngineeringNot reported20
MarketingNot reported13
Social WorkNot reported8
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported7
ChemistryNot reported7
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported7
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported5
SociologyNot reported5
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported4
Legal Support ServicesNot reported4
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported4
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported3
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported3
International BusinessNot reported3
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported2
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
AnthropologyNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported1
HistoryNot reported1
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported1
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Information Science/StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 56 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges