Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of South Alabama

Mobile, Alabama · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,648What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
71%
Graduation rate
53%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,879
In-state tuition
$10,116Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$19,092
SAT midpoint
1,100
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,379Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,648

Better than 25% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

53%

Better than 51% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$49,379

Better than 32% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,929

Better than 16% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,476

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,648

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of South Alabama
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time53%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return76%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,929
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$49,379

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of South Alabama by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$81,49929
Chemical Engineering$71,11636
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,447347
Mechanical Engineering$67,17550
Computer Engineering$59,62612
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$59,61159
Civil Engineering$59,54736
Information Science/Studies$56,34411
Computer Science$55,25650
Business/Commerce, General$50,51512
Accounting and Related Services$48,79537
Computer and Information Sciences, General$47,25340
Business Administration, Management and Operations$44,34850
Finance and Financial Management Services$41,65731
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,10590
English Language and Literature, General$40,48626
Marketing$38,60035
Criminal Justice and Corrections$36,21648
Social Work$33,77123
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$33,55724
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$32,86899
Statistics$32,18117
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$31,63076
Communication and Media Studies$30,15341
History$29,74425
Hospitality Administration/Management$28,31016
Music$27,05018
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$26,888Not reported
Biology, General$25,950134
Psychology, General$23,700100
Fine and Studio Arts$20,52730
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported112
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported20
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported16
AnthropologyNot reported10
SociologyNot reported10
PhilosophyNot reported10
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported8
Geography and CartographyNot reported8
Medical Illustration and InformaticsNot reported7
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported7
International BusinessNot reported7
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported7
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported4
Atmospheric Sciences and MeteorologyNot reported4
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
JournalismNot reported1
Marine SciencesNot reported1
Education, OtherNot reported1
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported

All 54 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges