Skip to content
College Path Hub

Alabama A & M University

Normal, Alabama · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,621What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
58%
Graduation rate
26%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
6,124
In-state tuition
$10,024Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$18,634
SAT midpoint
935
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$40,628Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,621

Better than 26% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

26%

Better than 7% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$40,628

Better than 8% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$31,000

Better than 0% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$27,153

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,621

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Alabama A & M University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time26%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return70%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$31,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$40,628

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Alabama A & M University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$72,24122
Mechanical Engineering$71,95420
Computer and Information Sciences, General$63,90026
Accounting and Related Services$47,1569
Business Administration, Management and Operations$40,18339
Criminal Justice and Corrections$31,68232
Biology, General$29,09876
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians$28,93824
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$28,87725
Psychology, General$26,50434
Marketing$25,94515
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported24
Social WorkNot reported23
Construction Engineering Technology/TechnicianNot reported19
Animal SciencesNot reported18
Civil EngineeringNot reported15
Special Education and TeachingNot reported14
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralNot reported10
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported9
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported9
Food Science and TechnologyNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported5
ForestryNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported2
Agricultural/Animal/Plant/Veterinary Science and Related Fields, OtherNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported1
PhysicsNot reported1
SociologyNot reported1
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningNot reported1

All 34 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges