At a glance
- Average net price
- $12,397What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 72%
- Graduation rate
- 50%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 12,701
- In-state tuition
- $10,728Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $15,384
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $48,458Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$12,3974/5
Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
50%3/5
Better than 43% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$48,4582/5
Better than 29% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$23,3002/5
Better than 23% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$25,169
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$12,397
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 50% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 77% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $23,300 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $48,458 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $73,680 | 293 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $71,137 | 25 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $69,386 | 50 |
| Computer Engineering | $65,222 | 14 |
| Civil Engineering | $64,780 | 31 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $62,454 | 29 |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | $61,465 | 40 |
| Mathematics | $57,310 | 25 |
| Computer Science | $57,233 | 68 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $51,524 | 61 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $51,425 | 110 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $47,611 | 136 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $44,664 | 70 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $44,395 | 100 |
| Marketing | $43,986 | 81 |
| International Business | $40,857 | 20 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $39,819 | 45 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $37,999 | 19 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | $37,534 | 14 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $37,229 | 221 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $37,158 | 56 |
| Chemistry | $36,881 | 16 |
| Social Work | $36,220 | 56 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $35,900 | 105 |
| Sociology | $34,822 | 23 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $33,502 | 58 |
| Journalism | $32,820 | 35 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $32,305 | 424 |
| Biology, General | $32,145 | 86 |
| Psychology, General | $31,582 | 188 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $31,190 | 29 |
| History | $30,652 | 43 |
| Political Science and Government | $27,600 | 47 |
| Music | $27,353 | 42 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $26,922 | 54 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $26,451 | 61 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $25,948 | 60 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $23,533 | 48 |
| Anthropology | $23,112 | 17 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $19,055 | 25 |
| Environmental Design | Not reported | 18 |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | 18 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 16 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 12 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Not reported | 12 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 11 |
| Economics | Not reported | 7 |
| Air Transportation | Not reported | 7 |
| Physics | Not reported | 7 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 6 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | Not reported | Not reported |
All 51 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoEast Tennessee State University
Johnson City, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoMiddle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoTennessee Technological University
Cookeville, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two