At a glance
- Average net price
- $13,359What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 69%
- Graduation rate
- 54%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 16,301
- In-state tuition
- $10,266Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $31,574
- SAT midpoint
- 1,110
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $48,541Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$13,3594/5
Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
54%3/5
Better than 55% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$48,5412/5
Better than 29% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$20,0004/5
Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,289
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$13,359
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 54% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 80% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $20,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $48,541 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Construction Management | $71,762 | 49 |
| Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering | $71,664 | 51 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | $67,431 | 28 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $65,839 | 76 |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | $60,808 | 31 |
| Computer Science | $57,653 | 73 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $51,963 | 66 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $50,013 | 13 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $48,608 | 71 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $46,505 | 85 |
| Mathematics | $45,184 | 12 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $45,074 | 86 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $44,608 | 271 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $44,052 | 10 |
| Air Transportation | $43,909 | 212 |
| Marketing | $43,612 | 100 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | $43,002 | 14 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $42,657 | 88 |
| Business/Commerce, General | $40,100 | 15 |
| Security Science and Technology | $39,956 | 25 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $38,807 | 17 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $38,272 | 293 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $37,952 | 126 |
| Plant Sciences | $37,716 | 18 |
| Biology, General | $35,986 | 125 |
| Social Work | $35,574 | 49 |
| History | $35,391 | 48 |
| Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology | $35,159 | 13 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $34,856 | 37 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $34,329 | 11 |
| Animal Sciences | $33,788 | 38 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $32,966 | 118 |
| Psychology, General | $32,433 | 242 |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | $31,988 | 39 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $31,554 | 69 |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | $31,125 | 49 |
| Political Science and Government | $31,012 | 52 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | $30,835 | 35 |
| Journalism | $30,659 | 86 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $30,371 | 18 |
| International/Globalization Studies | $30,365 | 13 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $30,350 | 35 |
| Public Health | $30,321 | 32 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $29,877 | 93 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $29,084 | 87 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $28,642 | 47 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $28,202 | 105 |
| Music | $27,586 | 155 |
| Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management | $27,172 | 112 |
| Anthropology | $21,878 | 17 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $17,860 | 22 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | Not reported | 35 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 24 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Not reported | 24 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | Not reported | 19 |
| Data Science | Not reported | 19 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | Not reported | 17 |
| Graphic Communications | Not reported | 16 |
| Physics | Not reported | 15 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Not reported | 12 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Not reported | 12 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 10 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 10 |
| Economics | Not reported | 9 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 9 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Not reported | 9 |
| Food Science and Technology | Not reported | 8 |
| Dance | Not reported | 8 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Not reported | 5 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | 4 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 4 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 1 |
| Insurance | Not reported | Not reported |
All 73 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Memphis
Memphis, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoThe University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoEast Tennessee State University
Johnson City, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoTennessee Technological University
Cookeville, TN
Also a public four-year college in TN, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two