Skip to content
College Path Hub

Tennessee Technological University

Cookeville, Tennessee · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$14,246What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
76%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,698
In-state tuition
$11,376Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$15,576
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$48,501Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$14,246

Better than 53% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 61% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$48,501

Better than 29% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$15,650

Better than 86% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,663

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$14,246

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Tennessee Technological University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$15,650
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$48,501

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Tennessee Technological University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$73,45329
Computer Engineering$69,29115
Mechanical Engineering$66,228104
Civil Engineering$63,57775
Computer Science$63,180129
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$61,379120
Chemical Engineering$60,30034
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$59,62257
Music$44,63510
Accounting and Related Services$41,53055
Finance and Financial Management Services$41,17643
Marketing$39,99044
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$39,034193
Business Administration, Management and Operations$38,99494
Sociology$35,29358
Political Science and Government$34,10519
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$33,67827
Agriculture, General$33,50852
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$33,170102
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$29,93640
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$29,11452
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other$28,82820
Psychology, General$28,39451
Biology, General$25,08778
History$24,65912
Fine and Studio Arts$19,23126
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported104
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported41
ChemistryNot reported38
Special Education and TeachingNot reported18
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported16
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported13
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported12
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported10
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported6
EconomicsNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported6
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported4
Engineering, GeneralNot reported4
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported1
Animal SciencesNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges