Skip to content
College Path Hub

Austin Peay State University

Clarksville, Tennessee · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$9,735What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
96%
Graduation rate
42%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,560
In-state tuition
$9,006Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$14,766
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,301Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$9,735

Better than 85% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

42%

Better than 27% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$44,301

Better than 14% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,547

Better than 52% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,233

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$9,735

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Austin Peay State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time42%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return70%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,547
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$44,301

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Austin Peay State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$70,02849
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$68,235121
Computer Systems Analysis$65,08426
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$62,08946
Computer and Information Sciences, General$58,06021
Finance and Financial Management Services$48,26428
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$47,80922
Chemistry$42,47518
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,74365
Music$39,00821
Business Administration, Management and Operations$38,75082
Accounting and Related Services$37,56628
English Language and Literature, General$37,48619
Criminal Justice and Corrections$36,74985
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$35,745139
Business/Commerce, General$35,699Not reported
Political Science and Government$34,63518
History$34,45617
Social Work$34,38443
Agriculture, General$31,90537
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,846140
Sociology$31,69918
Marketing$31,33462
Psychology, General$28,705111
Communication and Media Studies$25,64326
Biology, General$24,66236
Fine and Studio Arts$19,15735
Computer ScienceNot reported26
JournalismNot reported20
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported7
Air TransportationNot reported6
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
Special Education and TeachingNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported5
Engineering PhysicsNot reported4
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported3
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported

All 38 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges