Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Massachusetts-Boston

Boston, Massachusetts · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,707What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
84%
Graduation rate
50%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
11,512
In-state tuition
$15,908Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$38,125
SAT midpoint
1,170
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$65,865Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,707

Better than 25% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

50%

Better than 43% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$65,865

Better than 81% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,974

Better than 38% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$30,544

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,707

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Massachusetts-Boston
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time50%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return70%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,974
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$65,865

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Massachusetts-Boston by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$82,11824
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$79,672372
Computer and Information Sciences, General$58,909114
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$50,35216
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,417414
History$46,90834
Economics$46,52385
Social Work$45,22726
Biology, General$42,721206
Communication and Media Studies$42,48066
Criminal Justice and Corrections$42,325144
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$41,87212
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$41,54749
Sociology$40,56951
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,84640
Psychology, General$38,151251
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$37,703162
Fine and Studio Arts$36,98014
Philosophy$36,58112
Anthropology$36,56524
English Language and Literature, General$35,82075
Political Science and Government$34,49954
Computer ScienceNot reported75
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported28
MathematicsNot reported22
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported17
Area StudiesNot reported16
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported11
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported10
Computer EngineeringNot reported9
MusicNot reported7
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported6
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported5
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported4
Community Organization and AdvocacyNot reported3
Engineering PhysicsNot reported3
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
GerontologyNot reported1
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 43 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges