Skip to content
College Path Hub

Salem State University

Salem, Massachusetts · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,996What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
96%
Graduation rate
52%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,291
In-state tuition
$12,338Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$19,531
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,662Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,996

Better than 38% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

52%

Better than 51% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$56,662

Better than 57% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$28,291

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,996

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Salem State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time52%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return75%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,662

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Salem State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$80,641163
Computer and Information Sciences, General$57,70629
Chemistry$49,4396
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,89750
Biology, General$45,67067
Social Work$45,45031
Criminal Justice and Corrections$44,81274
Health and Medical Administrative Services$40,50638
Sociology$39,8228
Psychology, General$36,492138
Communication and Media Studies$34,30218
Education, General$33,06525
English Language and Literature, General$32,84429
Geography and Cartography$32,50417
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,75516
History$29,30724
Fine and Studio Arts$26,1806
Visual and Performing Arts, General$24,699Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported74
MarketingNot reported56
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported35
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported31
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported21
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported18
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported16
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported15
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported14
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported13
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported13
Fire ProtectionNot reported13
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported12
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported12
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported11
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported11
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported10
MathematicsNot reported10
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported9
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported9
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported7
EconomicsNot reported7
International BusinessNot reported6
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported5
JournalismNot reported5
MusicNot reported5
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesNot reported4
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported3
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported3
DanceNot reported3
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported2
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
BiotechnologyNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reportedNot reported

All 58 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges