Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Baltimore, Maryland · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$16,467What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
72%
Graduation rate
70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
10,701
In-state tuition
$13,256Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$31,275
SAT midpoint
1,315
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$69,960Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$16,467

Better than 34% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

70%

Better than 85% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$69,960

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,500

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$28,576

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$16,467

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time70%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return85%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$69,960

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Maryland-Baltimore County by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Engineering$86,44440
Computer Science$83,684330
Mechanical Engineering$71,519111
Chemical Engineering$66,02356
Information Science/Studies$63,334226
Economics$54,859103
Mathematics$54,36270
International/Globalization Studies$49,11519
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$46,28664
Chemistry$44,21510
Social Work$40,31684
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$39,52467
Sociology$39,43540
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$36,80436
Psychology, General$35,721332
Design and Applied Arts$34,02017
Political Science and Government$33,54971
Biology, General$33,055318
Communication and Media Studies$30,73761
Area Studies$30,5459
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$30,27559
English Language and Literature, General$27,54736
Music$23,99122
Fine and Studio Arts$23,87966
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$23,74229
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$17,38118
HistoryNot reported49
PhysicsNot reported18
StatisticsNot reported18
BiotechnologyNot reported17
Geography and Environmental StudiesNot reported17
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported16
PhilosophyNot reported14
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reported11
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported10
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported10
AnthropologyNot reported9
DanceNot reported8
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported6
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported1
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Geography and CartographyNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported

All 45 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges