Skip to content
College Path Hub

Towson University

Towson, Maryland · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,413What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
82%
Graduation rate
69%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
16,136
In-state tuition
$11,728Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$29,820
SAT midpoint
1,130
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$64,390Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,413

Better than 28% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

69%

Better than 82% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$64,390

Better than 80% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,718

Better than 74% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$28,535

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,413

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Towson University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time69%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return83%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,718
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$64,390

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Towson University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$80,344233
Computer Science$71,795176
Accounting and Related Services$64,012101
Mathematics$56,44323
Business Administration, Management and Operations$54,772504
Special Education and Teaching$53,331162
Computer and Information Sciences, General$53,171181
Education, Other$52,791Not reported
Chemistry$52,76539
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,749173
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$51,20956
Economics$50,91049
Information Science/Studies$50,06744
Health and Medical Administrative Services$46,325107
Communication and Media Studies$42,65779
Political Science and Government$42,64871
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$41,09517
History$40,16248
English Language and Literature, General$39,25062
International Relations and National Security Studies$39,20836
Social Sciences, General$37,93413
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$36,84240
Human Services, General$36,61694
Social Sciences, Other$36,279207
Biology, General$34,988198
Psychology, General$34,375388
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$34,34535
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$32,74019
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$32,101247
Fine and Studio Arts$29,958128
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$23,46356
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$22,997281
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$19,87142
Music$19,61834
Public HealthNot reported83
Geography and CartographyNot reported22
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported20
DanceNot reported19
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported18
Area StudiesNot reported15
PhysicsNot reported12
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported11
PhilosophyNot reported9
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported9
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported8
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported8
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reported5
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported1
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Security Science and TechnologyNot reportedNot reported

All 50 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges