At a glance
- Average net price
- $14,355What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 42%
- Graduation rate
- 85%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 36,258
- In-state tuition
- $16,004Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $35,124
- SAT midpoint
- 1,415
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $81,054Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$14,3553/5
Better than 52% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
85%5/5
Better than 95% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$81,0545/5
Better than 95% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$19,5004/5
Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$33,642
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$14,355
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 85% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 95% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $19,500 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $81,054 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $124,530 | 311 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $113,503 | 165 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | $109,843 | 87 |
| Computer Engineering | $103,123 | 396 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $86,483 | 184 |
| Systems Engineering | $81,785 | 83 |
| Nuclear Engineering | $81,134 | 28 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $80,187 | 228 |
| Industrial Engineering | $78,313 | 80 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $77,572 | 203 |
| Chemical Engineering | $77,440 | 122 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | $75,859 | 137 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $75,381 | 323 |
| Materials Engineering | $75,080 | 92 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $74,731 | 352 |
| Civil Engineering | $73,397 | 180 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $72,527 | 53 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $71,485 | 86 |
| Marketing | $69,273 | 145 |
| Statistics | $68,636 | 330 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $68,442 | 134 |
| Engineering Physics | $64,304 | 96 |
| Agricultural Engineering | $62,032 | 75 |
| Economics | $58,921 | 315 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $55,934 | 255 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $51,922 | 24 |
| Physics | $51,019 | 61 |
| Sustainability Studies | $50,678 | 72 |
| Mathematics | $48,728 | 141 |
| Agricultural Public Services | $48,643 | 36 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $48,063 | 191 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $48,038 | 95 |
| Chemistry | $47,034 | 121 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $46,897 | 46 |
| Plant Sciences | $45,411 | 27 |
| Geography and Cartography | $42,214 | 14 |
| Food Science and Technology | $41,150 | 72 |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $41,102 | 87 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | $41,026 | 14 |
| Public Health | $40,564 | 170 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $38,942 | 54 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $38,867 | 11 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $37,808 | 294 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $37,031 | 96 |
| Social Work | $36,815 | 87 |
| Journalism | $36,303 | 49 |
| Systems Science and Theory | $35,239 | 71 |
| Political Science and Government | $35,172 | 252 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | $34,806 | 129 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $34,742 | 81 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $34,670 | 75 |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | $33,384 | 573 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $32,856 | 28 |
| Sociology | $31,548 | 82 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $31,369 | 82 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $31,187 | 176 |
| International/Globalization Studies | $30,438 | 42 |
| Animal Sciences | $30,187 | 143 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | $30,178 | 134 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $29,777 | 290 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $29,762 | 101 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | $29,620 | 86 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $28,669 | 35 |
| History | $26,436 | 94 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $25,921 | 17 |
| Area Studies | $24,332 | 13 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | $24,225 | 32 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $22,159 | 30 |
| Philosophy | $21,824 | 20 |
| Anthropology | $16,197 | 40 |
| Music | $13,128 | 58 |
| Information Science/Studies | Not reported | 107 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 37 |
| Engineering Mechanics | Not reported | 31 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Not reported | 23 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | Not reported | 18 |
| Dance | Not reported | 16 |
| Cognitive Science | Not reported | 14 |
| Education, General | Not reported | 9 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 6 |
| Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other | Not reported | 4 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | Not reported | 4 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Not reported | 3 |
| Biotechnology | Not reported | 3 |
| Agriculture, General | Not reported | 2 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 2 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 2 |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 1 |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Crafts/Craft Design, Folk Art and Artisanry | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported |
| City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | Not reported | Not reported |
| Data Analytics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Data Science | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biology, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering, General | Not reported | Not reported |
All 102 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Illinois Chicago
Chicago, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoIllinois State University
Normal, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNorthern Illinois University
Dekalb, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoSouthern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two