At a glance
- Average net price
- $19,398What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 88%
- Graduation rate
- 65%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 19,057
- In-state tuition
- $16,144Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $28,210
- SAT midpoint
- 1,100
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $62,117Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$19,3981/5
Better than 15% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
65%4/5
Better than 77% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$62,1174/5
Better than 71% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$20,4823/5
Better than 58% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$34,309
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$19,398
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 65% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 81% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $20,482 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $62,117 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $81,363 | 61 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $72,709 | 215 |
| Construction Management | $70,672 | 52 |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | $66,801 | 5 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | $65,629 | 33 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $65,127 | 18 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $62,940 | 166 |
| Public Health | $59,207 | 26 |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | $55,532 | 26 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $54,958 | 176 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $52,887 | 23 |
| Mathematics | $52,597 | 85 |
| International Business | $52,491 | 39 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | $51,839 | 10 |
| Marketing | $51,687 | 256 |
| Insurance | $51,499 | 32 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $50,647 | 169 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $49,448 | 47 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | $48,974 | 23 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | $48,886 | 17 |
| Special Education and Teaching | $48,358 | 151 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $47,553 | 96 |
| Agriculture, General | $47,295 | 109 |
| Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians | $46,992 | 8 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $44,898 | 473 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $44,613 | 163 |
| Economics | $44,015 | 29 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $43,874 | 65 |
| History | $40,465 | 111 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $39,563 | 109 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $39,287 | 31 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $39,104 | 76 |
| Social Work | $39,041 | 49 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | $38,444 | 35 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $38,125 | 166 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $37,584 | 176 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $37,111 | 26 |
| Journalism | $36,643 | 34 |
| Biology, General | $36,337 | 120 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $35,967 | 97 |
| Geography and Cartography | $34,952 | 23 |
| Political Science and Government | $34,519 | 77 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $34,154 | 17 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $33,682 | 32 |
| Sociology | $33,636 | 64 |
| Music | $32,853 | 25 |
| Psychology, General | $32,104 | 200 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $31,745 | 123 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $30,051 | 77 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $28,958 | 56 |
| Anthropology | $25,913 | 11 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, Other | $24,384 | Not reported |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | Not reported | 90 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | Not reported | 71 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Not reported | 44 |
| Physics | Not reported | 30 |
| Legal Support Services | Not reported | 19 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 19 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 16 |
| Graphic Communications | Not reported | 14 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | 13 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 6 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 5 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | 1 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 1 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 1 |
All 66 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Illinois Chicago
Chicago, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNorthern Illinois University
Dekalb, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoSouthern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoSouthern Illinois University-Carbondale
Carbondale, IL
Also a public four-year college in IL, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two