Skip to content
College Path Hub

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Edwardsville, Illinois · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$14,889What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
98%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,750
In-state tuition
$12,922Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$12,922
SAT midpoint
1,040
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,346Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$14,889

Better than 49% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 60% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$56,346

Better than 56% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,500

Better than 53% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$28,919

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$14,889

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return76%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,346

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$79,61728
Computer Science$76,10682
Industrial Engineering$73,09222
Computer Engineering$71,84112
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,161470
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$67,450Not reported
Civil Engineering$67,26050
Mechanical Engineering$66,54652
Computer and Information Sciences, General$55,8443
Business/Managerial Economics$53,219Not reported
Accounting and Related Services$49,04651
Chemistry$46,65922
Geography and Cartography$44,54320
Special Education and Teaching$44,20520
Business Administration, Management and Operations$43,753297
Criminal Justice and Corrections$39,27983
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,83093
Biology, General$38,067111
Social Work$36,97434
Communication and Media Studies$36,56987
Sociology$35,41518
Public Health$35,02324
Music$34,07915
Psychology, General$32,459158
Political Science and Government$31,78622
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$31,57054
English Language and Literature, General$31,42042
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$28,79569
History$26,91632
Fine and Studio Arts$25,25925
Anthropology$23,37911
Philosophy$23,21911
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$16,89217
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported34
Construction ManagementNot reported25
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported20
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation EngineeringNot reported15
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported12
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported11
MathematicsNot reported11
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported9
EconomicsNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported4
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported3
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Surveying EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported

All 47 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges