Skip to content
College Path Hub

The University of Texas Permian Basin

Odessa, Texas · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,723What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
95%
Graduation rate
42%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,911
In-state tuition
$9,236Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$21,504
SAT midpoint
1,030
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,073Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,723

Better than 67% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

42%

Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$56,073

Better than 54% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$17,750

Better than 80% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$23,886

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,723

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for The University of Texas Permian Basin
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time42%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return61%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$17,750
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,073

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at The University of Texas Permian Basin by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,68143
Mechanical Engineering$65,16742
Petroleum Engineering$61,29925
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$53,10912
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,10988
Communication and Media Studies$46,20322
Psychology, General$46,009129
Education, GeneralNot reported67
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported64
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported54
Biology, GeneralNot reported37
MarketingNot reported29
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported24
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported24
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported22
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansNot reported21
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported19
SociologyNot reported17
CriminologyNot reported15
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported13
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported13
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported11
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
HistoryNot reported9
Chemical EngineeringNot reported6
MusicNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
Information Science/StudiesNot reported3
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported3
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported2
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported1
Social WorkNot reported1
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 37 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges