Skip to content
College Path Hub

SUNY at Purchase College

Purchase, New York · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,913What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
74%
Graduation rate
62%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,197
In-state tuition
$8,953Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$19,203
SAT midpoint
1,220
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,092Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,913

Better than 18% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

62%

Better than 72% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$45,092

Better than 17% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,067

Better than 47% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$29,043

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,913

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for SUNY at Purchase College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time62%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,067
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$45,092

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at SUNY at Purchase College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Sociology$35,12417
Economics$34,29711
Biology, General$33,91422
Communication and Media Studies$31,88159
Visual and Performing Arts, Other$31,175Not reported
Psychology, General$27,83861
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$25,19742
History$23,80316
Visual and Performing Arts, General$22,02423
Journalism$22,01118
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$18,12847
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$18,090139
Anthropology$18,08510
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$18,07948
Music$17,88749
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$16,55611
Social Sciences, Other$15,273Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts$14,98450
Dance$12,03941
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported20
MathematicsNot reported20
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported19
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported19
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported15
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported11
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported4
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported4
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
LiteratureNot reportedNot reported
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 39 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges