Skip to content
College Path Hub

State University of New York at Plattsburgh

Plattsburgh, New York · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,156What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
78%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,769
In-state tuition
$9,035Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$18,945
SAT midpoint
1,145
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,403Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,156

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 66% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$56,403

Better than 56% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,196

Better than 46% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$28,244

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,156

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for State University of New York at Plattsburgh
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return73%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,196
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,403

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at State University of New York at Plattsburgh by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,15256
Accounting and Related Services$51,243116
Computer and Information Sciences, General$50,29110
Management Information Systems and Services$50,23216
Marketing$44,60736
Economics$43,97711
Business Administration, Management and Operations$41,410109
Finance and Financial Management Services$40,41424
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$40,14311
Communication and Media Studies$39,74921
Hospitality Administration/Management$39,09917
Sociology$39,0796
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,52747
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$35,02518
Journalism$32,45619
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$30,31819
Political Science and Government$29,16412
Psychology, General$29,14780
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$28,55943
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$28,44724
History$28,40020
Fine and Studio Arts$25,76213
English Language and Literature, General$24,99514
Biology, General$24,88549
Social Work$24,67625
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$24,5369
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$23,6826
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported59
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported25
Computer ScienceNot reported21
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported13
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported11
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported11
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesNot reported9
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported9
International BusinessNot reported8
PhysicsNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported5
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported5
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported4
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported2
AnthropologyNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Environmental GeosciencesNot reported1
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyNot reportedNot reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementNot reportedNot reported

All 57 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges