Skip to content
College Path Hub

St. Mary's College of Maryland

St. Mary's City, Maryland · Public · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$18,441What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
69%
Graduation rate
69%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,603
In-state tuition
$15,298Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$31,374
SAT midpoint
1,238
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$60,110Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$18,441

Better than 20% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

69%

Better than 83% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$60,110

Better than 66% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,000

Better than 48% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$31,865

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$18,441

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for St. Mary's College of Maryland
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time69%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return86%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$60,110

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at St. Mary's College of Maryland by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$72,92620
Economics$51,48337
Public Policy Analysis$43,62912
Biology, General$36,33140
English Language and Literature, General$30,02522
History$28,92912
Psychology, General$28,33451
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported30
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported18
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported14
MathematicsNot reported14
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported13
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported12
SociologyNot reported11
AnthropologyNot reported9
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported7
ChemistryNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported6
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Area StudiesNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
MusicNot reported1
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Marine SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 29 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges