Skip to content
College Path Hub

Southwestern University

Georgetown, Texas · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$29,224What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
43%
Graduation rate
71%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,440
In-state tuition
$53,813Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$53,813
SAT midpoint
1,240
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,878Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$29,224

Better than 22% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

71%

Better than 78% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$56,878

Better than 58% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$67,493

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$29,224

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Southwestern University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time71%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return81%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,878

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Southwestern University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Education, General$50,98421
Business/Commerce, General$47,05689
Political Science and Government$34,41528
Communication and Media Studies$34,05028
Psychology, General$30,37343
English Language and Literature, General$25,06012
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported40
Biology, GeneralNot reported26
EconomicsNot reported20
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported16
HistoryNot reported13
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported13
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported12
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported9
PhysicsNot reported9
SociologyNot reported9
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported8
MusicNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported4
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported1
Applied MathematicsNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported1
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 33 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges