Skip to content
College Path Hub

Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,608What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
71%
Graduation rate
66%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
6,788
In-state tuition
$10,568Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$14,676
SAT midpoint
1,070
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,032Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,608

Better than 14% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

66%

Better than 78% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$53,032

Better than 44% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$25,537

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,608

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time66%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$53,032

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$79,15629
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians$67,072176
Computer and Information Sciences, General$59,43036
Information Science/Studies$49,36965
Finance and Financial Management Services$49,24857
Mathematics$47,27723
Accounting and Related Services$46,35938
Marketing$44,20737
Special Education and Teaching$43,480106
Public Health$42,60560
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$41,79773
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$41,09418
Business Administration, Management and Operations$40,81959
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$39,290Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,96661
Music$37,66019
Chemistry$36,5976
Criminology$36,27655
Communication and Media Studies$35,84092
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$35,41157
History$34,68245
English Language and Literature, General$34,20529
Biology, General$33,20650
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$33,16911
Psychology, General$32,780100
Social Work$32,31634
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$32,06542
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$31,95577
Homeland Security$31,68522
Political Science and Government$29,18617
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$27,347126
Philosophy$25,8699
Dance$19,68114
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported50
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported32
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported27
EconomicsNot reported20
Civil EngineeringNot reported20
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported17
Geography and CartographyNot reported16
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported14
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported11
Industrial EngineeringNot reported7
Petroleum EngineeringNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2

All 47 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges