Skip to content
College Path Hub

Seattle University

Seattle, Washington · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$34,662What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
77%
Graduation rate
74%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,062
In-state tuition
$56,721Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$56,721
SAT midpoint
1,225
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$75,272Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$34,662

Better than 12% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

74%

Better than 82% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$75,272

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,883

Better than 83% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$72,124

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$34,662

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Seattle University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time74%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,883
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$75,272

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Seattle University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$102,66423
Computer Science$85,28584
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$81,021238
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$79,0739
Accounting and Related Services$70,57026
Civil Engineering$69,15119
Mechanical Engineering$67,85129
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$63,49629
Mathematics$57,55114
Finance and Financial Management Services$55,82349
Criminal Justice and Corrections$51,10029
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,59842
Marketing$44,71459
Political Science and Government$41,47429
Communication and Media Studies$39,31628
Security Science and Technology$37,55739
Psychology, General$37,45272
Biology, General$37,06339
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$35,39827
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$33,82126
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$32,66315
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,6276
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$30,25612
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$28,0828
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported25
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported20
HistoryNot reported17
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reported17
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported15
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported15
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported15
Public AdministrationNot reported13
Computer EngineeringNot reported13
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported12
EconomicsNot reported12
SociologyNot reported11
PhilosophyNot reported11
ChemistryNot reported10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported9
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported8
International BusinessNot reported8
Social WorkNot reported6
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported5
AnthropologyNot reported4
Area StudiesNot reported4
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
Public Administration and Social Service Professions, OtherNot reported3
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported2
MusicNot reported1
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported1
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reportedNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 64 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges