Skip to content
College Path Hub

Pacific Lutheran University

Tacoma, Washington · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,589What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
78%
Graduation rate
70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,401
In-state tuition
$52,254Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$52,254
SAT midpoint
1,264
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$66,990Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,589

Better than 68% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

70%

Better than 75% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$66,990

Better than 78% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,578

Better than 68% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$62,459

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,589

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Pacific Lutheran University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time70%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,578
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$66,990

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Pacific Lutheran University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$81,761132
Computer and Information Sciences, General$78,055Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$57,6838
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$57,62415
Business Administration, Management and Operations$52,91970
Chemistry$44,55514
Economics$43,80614
Political Science and Government$41,51815
Biology, General$36,76643
Sociology$35,31718
Communication and Media Studies$33,97023
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$33,44941
Psychology, General$30,75741
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$30,1425
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$25,75416
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$24,77313
Fine and Studio Arts$23,76611
Music$17,71118
Social WorkNot reported18
Computer ScienceNot reported18
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported16
HistoryNot reported15
CriminologyNot reported15
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported13
PhysicsNot reported13
AnthropologyNot reported11
MathematicsNot reported11
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported11
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported10
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported7
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Area StudiesNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Computer EngineeringNot reportedNot reported

All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges