Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Puget Sound

Tacoma, Washington · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$38,394What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
72%
Graduation rate
68%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,594
In-state tuition
$62,898Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$62,898
SAT midpoint
1,260
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$69,594Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$38,394

Better than 7% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

68%

Better than 70% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$69,594

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$78,378

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$38,394

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Puget Sound
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time68%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$69,594

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Puget Sound by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$66,05519
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,10668
Economics$48,15322
Mathematics$37,61010
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$35,82216
Political Science and Government$31,29046
Biology, General$30,19137
History$29,90924
Communication and Media Studies$29,47724
English Language and Literature, General$29,29113
Area Studies$29,232Not reported
Fine and Studio Arts$28,46911
International Relations and National Security Studies$28,17616
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$25,62312
Psychology, General$25,59643
Music$25,55111
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$25,03520
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$23,43726
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$22,26023
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$22,2518
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$22,192Not reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$20,9164
Religion/Religious Studies$20,35714
Education, General$20,039Not reported
Sociology and Anthropology$19,49517
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$16,3108
International/Globalization Studies$16,037Not reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported25
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
PhilosophyNot reported8
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
Science, Technology and SocietyNot reported5
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported4
International BusinessNot reported4
PhysicsNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported2
Engineering, GeneralNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
SociologyNot reportedNot reported

All 44 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges