Skip to content
College Path Hub

Russell Sage College

Troy, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,917What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
53%
Graduation rate
59%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,244
In-state tuition
$38,164Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$38,164
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$58,316Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,917

Better than 48% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

59%

Better than 52% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$58,316

Better than 62% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,000

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$50,607

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,917

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Russell Sage College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time59%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$58,316

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Russell Sage College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$73,30291
Business Administration, Management and Operations$37,95321
Psychology, General$37,82131
Design and Applied Arts$35,29418
Social Sciences, Other$27,43612
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reported36
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported18
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherNot reported8
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported6
Biology, GeneralNot reported6
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported6
Nutrition SciencesNot reported5
SociologyNot reported5
Visual and Performing Arts, OtherNot reported4
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported3
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported1
HistoryNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported
ChemistryNot reportedNot reported
Political Science and GovernmentNot reportedNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Public HealthNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Information Science/StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reportedNot reported

All 32 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges