Skip to content
College Path Hub

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Terre Haute, Indiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$42,513What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
77%
Graduation rate
80%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,309
In-state tuition
$58,649Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$58,649
SAT midpoint
1,375
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$101,253Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$42,513

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

80%

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$101,253

Better than 97% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$77,890

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$42,513

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time80%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return92%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$101,253

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$100,29463
Computer Engineering$92,12363
Mathematics$85,97710
Chemical Engineering$82,39427
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$80,06235
Mechanical Engineering$78,732121
Civil Engineering$73,82120
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$71,71428
Engineering, GeneralNot reported11
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported8
ChemistryNot reported5
Data ScienceNot reported5
Biology, GeneralNot reported4
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported4
PhysicsNot reported4
Engineering PhysicsNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported1
Computational ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 20 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges