Skip to content
College Path Hub

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, Virginia · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$14,638What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
90%
Graduation rate
45%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
17,514
In-state tuition
$12,750Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$33,780
SAT midpoint
1,120
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$54,914Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$14,638

Better than 50% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

45%

Better than 33% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$54,914

Better than 50% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,000

Better than 20% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$29,446

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$14,638

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Old Dominion University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time45%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$54,914

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Old Dominion University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,527178
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$73,41835
Mechanical Engineering$71,774117
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other$70,620132
Computer Engineering$70,29827
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$65,838168
Computer and Information Sciences, General$64,530113
Civil Engineering$64,24634
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$63,14547
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$60,60120
Management Information Systems and Services$54,748111
Accounting and Related Services$52,22674
Mathematics$50,91225
Finance and Financial Management Services$48,12585
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,680160
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$46,359191
Marketing$43,39581
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$42,973105
Sociology$37,94676
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$37,645156
Criminology$37,255192
History$36,73346
English Language and Literature, General$36,05461
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$35,716171
Psychology, General$34,303309
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$34,04035
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$33,690133
International Relations and National Security Studies$33,58123
Political Science and Government$31,70043
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$29,98985
Biology, General$28,953170
Fine and Studio Arts$27,53547
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$25,81920
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$23,66446
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported92
Special Education and TeachingNot reported36
MusicNot reported23
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported20
ChemistryNot reported15
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported15
Public HealthNot reported14
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported13
Geography and CartographyNot reported13
PhysicsNot reported12
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported8
Area StudiesNot reported7
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported7
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported6
Engineering, GeneralNot reported5
EconomicsNot reported1
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reportedNot reported

All 52 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges