At a glance
- Average net price
- $17,915What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 87%
- Graduation rate
- 69%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 27,752
- In-state tuition
- $14,220Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $38,688
- SAT midpoint
- 1,245
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $76,343Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$17,9152/5
Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
69%5/5
Better than 82% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$76,3435/5
Better than 93% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$19,5004/5
Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$28,604
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$17,915
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 69% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 86% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $19,500 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $76,343 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Homeland Security | $90,956 | 139 |
| Computer Engineering | $87,466 | 33 |
| Systems Engineering | $84,942 | 15 |
| Computer Science | $84,632 | 25 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $82,175 | 44 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $78,800 | 761 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $78,365 | 206 |
| Civil Engineering | $75,822 | 80 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $73,570 | 89 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $68,049 | 137 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $67,291 | 106 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $63,981 | 36 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $62,989 | 60 |
| Public Administration | $56,674 | 29 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $55,147 | 103 |
| Mathematics | $54,711 | 37 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | $53,179 | 48 |
| Economics | $53,024 | 78 |
| Chemistry | $50,304 | 26 |
| Geography and Cartography | $49,568 | 20 |
| Marketing | $49,223 | 58 |
| Political Science and Government | $45,846 | 180 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | $45,624 | 88 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $45,151 | 34 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $45,140 | 15 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $45,108 | 41 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | $44,644 | 120 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $43,612 | 362 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $43,038 | 39 |
| Security Science and Technology | $42,100 | 36 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $41,398 | 292 |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | $40,929 | 53 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | $40,114 | 26 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $40,105 | 34 |
| Sustainability Studies | $39,329 | 25 |
| Sociology | $38,916 | 35 |
| Social Work | $38,559 | 68 |
| Anthropology | $37,081 | 22 |
| Public Health | $37,025 | 178 |
| Psychology, General | $36,326 | 383 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $34,890 | 91 |
| Biology, General | $34,719 | 285 |
| Music | $34,611 | 63 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $33,173 | 75 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | $31,941 | 140 |
| Graphic Communications | $29,192 | 80 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $27,859 | 80 |
| History | $25,992 | 74 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $23,989 | 36 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $22,984 | 34 |
| Dance | $12,409 | 15 |
| Business/Commerce, General | Not reported | 645 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Not reported | 139 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | 56 |
| Statistics | Not reported | 19 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 17 |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | 15 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 15 |
| Physics | Not reported | 13 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Not reported | 9 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | 8 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Not reported | 8 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | Not reported | 7 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | Not reported | 4 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 4 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 3 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | Not reported | 2 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Design and Applied Arts | Not reported | Not reported |
All 71 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoJames Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoVirginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Virginia-Main Campus
Charlottesville, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two