At a glance
- Average net price
- $23,322What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 72%
- Graduation rate
- 80%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 20,888
- In-state tuition
- $14,250Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $31,604
- SAT midpoint
- 1,225
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $69,954Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$23,3221/5
Better than 5% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
80%5/5
Better than 92% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$69,9545/5
Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$20,0934/5
Better than 60% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$31,735
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$23,322
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 80% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 92% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $20,093 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $69,954 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $81,761 | 136 |
| Information Science/Studies | $80,173 | 149 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $76,490 | 286 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $71,563 | 78 |
| Engineering, General | $71,176 | 66 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $67,849 | 129 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $65,931 | 130 |
| Systems Science and Theory | $65,683 | 50 |
| Economics | $62,286 | 58 |
| Marketing | $61,692 | 170 |
| Mathematics | $58,810 | 43 |
| Science, Technology and Society | $54,235 | 71 |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | $53,913 | 69 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $49,408 | 146 |
| Public Administration | $48,396 | 56 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $48,118 | 26 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $46,915 | 85 |
| Chemistry | $45,799 | 28 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $45,122 | 34 |
| Geography and Cartography | $45,094 | 61 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | $44,667 | 53 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $42,769 | 413 |
| Political Science and Government | $42,128 | 110 |
| Biotechnology | $41,832 | 32 |
| Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies | $40,966 | 70 |
| Music | $36,106 | 69 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $35,955 | 272 |
| Biology, General | $34,159 | 179 |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | $33,971 | 415 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $33,501 | 115 |
| Psychology, General | $31,734 | 330 |
| Social Work | $31,687 | 44 |
| Sociology | $31,513 | 37 |
| Anthropology | $30,686 | 23 |
| History | $29,000 | 69 |
| Philosophy and Religious Studies, Other | $28,712 | 14 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $26,049 | 39 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | $24,860 | 27 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $24,306 | 63 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | 138 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | Not reported | 71 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Not reported | 37 |
| International Business | Not reported | 34 |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | 30 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Not reported | 16 |
| Physics | Not reported | 15 |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | 8 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Not reported | 1 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | Not reported |
All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Virginia-Main Campus
Charlottesville, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoOld Dominion University
Norfolk, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoGeorge Mason University
Fairfax, VA
Also a public four-year college in VA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two