Skip to content
College Path Hub

Northwood University

Midland, Michigan · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$27,232What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
65%
Graduation rate
62%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,974
In-state tuition
$34,400Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$34,400
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,075Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$27,232

Better than 30% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

62%

Better than 58% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$63,075

Better than 73% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,842

Better than 79% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$48,780

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$27,232

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Northwood University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time62%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return79%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,842
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,075

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Northwood University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$64,10035
Finance and Financial Management Services$56,94057
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$54,29818
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,943302
Accounting and Related Services$45,21765
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$41,8571
Marketing$40,29757
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$28,56925
Information Science/StudiesNot reported20
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported17
International BusinessNot reported10
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported9
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported9
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported9
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported7
InsuranceNot reported6
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported1
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported1
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 20 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges