Skip to content
College Path Hub

Hillsdale College

Hillsdale, Michigan · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
Not reportedWhat students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
21%
Graduation rate
87%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,573
In-state tuition
$33,189Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$33,189
SAT midpoint
1,425
Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedMedian earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

Not reported

Not rated

Not rated: this college did not report the figure.

Completion

87%

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

Not reported

Not rated

Not rated: this college did not report the figure.

Debt at graduation

Not reported

Not rated

Not rated: this college did not report the figure.

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

Not reported

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

Not reported

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Hillsdale College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time87%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return97%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completedNot reported
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolledNot reported

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Hillsdale College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported41
EconomicsNot reported37
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported36
HistoryNot reported36
Biology, GeneralNot reported27
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported24
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported20
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported17
Psychology, GeneralNot reported15
MathematicsNot reported14
PhilosophyNot reported14
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported13
Applied MathematicsNot reported10
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported10
MarketingNot reported9
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported8
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported5
International BusinessNot reported5
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
MusicNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported2
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
SociologyNot reportedNot reported

All 30 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges